News · Press Release

DCCC Announces Changes To 2022 House Battlefield

DCCC Announces Frontline And Offensive House Battlefield  

Today, the DCCC announced changes to its Frontline Program and updated its Districts In Play list as the 2022 constitutional redistricting process continues. The DCCC’s Frontline Program is a battle-tested effort to provide Democratic Members of Congress from potentially competitive seats the resources to execute effective reelection campaigns. The Districts In Play are 38 competitive districts across the country that are Republican-held or open and will be critical battlegrounds as the DCCC works to protect Democrats’ House majority this cycle.

“Frontline House Democrats head into November with a record of delivering for the American people by fighting to end this pandemic, rebooting our economy, and putting millions of Americans to work rebuilding America,” said DCCC Chairman Sean Patrick Maloney. “Across the country, Republicans will have to defend their extremist agenda that just doesn’t work for American families.”

DCCC Frontline + Districts In Play Battleground Changes By State 
Given adjustments related to the constitutional redistricting process and an increasingly extremist Republican party that does not fit the needs of the American people, DCCC is updating its list of Frontline-designated Members and Districts In Play.

Arizona: In Arizona, Rep. Greg Stanton has been added to the Frontline. As the former mayor of Phoenix, Rep. Stanton has been delivering for Arizonans for decades. He is ready to defend his newly competitive seat.

California: In California, DCCC is adding three districts to our offensive battlefield. CA-03 and CA-13 are both open seats, while CA-41 was just barely carried by Donald Trump and Ken Calvert is out of step with his new district.

Colorado: In Colorado, DCCC is adding the newly open CO-07 and the new seat Colorado gained through reapportionment, CO-08. Both districts Democrats should win in November.

Georgia: In Georgia, Rep. Sanford Bishop has been added to Frontline to shore up his path to victory in the new, more competitive version of his district. He has built a strong brand with his constituents as a hard worker and bipartisan problem solver and will win re-election on his record of delivering for the farmers, rural communities, and working families of GA-02.

Illinois: In Illinois, Rep. Bill Foster was added to the Frontline program. He has previously run and won competitive races. DCCC is also adding two open seats to our Districts in Play list in Illinois: IL-13 and IL-17, districts that President Biden carried by over 11 points and just under eight points respectively.

Maryland: MD-01 has been added following the redistricting process in Maryland. President Biden carried the new MD-01 by just over 50%.

Michigan: In Michigan, Rep. Dan Kildee, has been added to the Frontline Program. Rep. Kildee is battle tested and ready to win re-election in November. Rep. Haley Stevens, now running for election in a newly safe seat, has been removed from Frontline. On the offensive battlefield, DCCC is adding MI-03, where Peter Meijer has a real challenge from a Trump-endorsed candidate on the right, and is a district trending toward Democrats where President Biden won with over 8% of the vote. In MI-10, Senators Stabenow and Peters and Governor Whitmer all carried this district in their 2018 and 2020 races.

North Carolina: In North Carolina, we have a highly competitive district that Democrats can win and hold in NC-02. Both President Biden and Rep. G. K. Butterfield won this district in 2020.

New Mexico: In New Mexico, Democrats have a prime opportunity to beat Rep. Yvette Herrell. This district moved from a Trump +12 to a Biden +6.

New Jersey: In New Jersey, Rep. Josh Gottheimer has been added to the Frontline program. His proven record of bipartisan leadership and enormous cash on hand advantage puts him in the driver’s seat to win this district for the fourth time.

Ohio: In Ohio, Rep. Marcy Kaptur has been added to the Frontline program. Rep. Kaptur has been a fierce fighter for working-class Ohioans during her time in Congress and her record of achievement will be hard for any radical Republican to beat. The newly drawn OH-13 presents an opportunity for Democrats to retain a seat as we continue the fight to flip OH-01 too.

Oregon: In addition to Rep. Kurt Schrader’s district, the DCCC is focusing its  efforts in Oregon on the open OR-04 and the new OR-06. President Biden and House Democrats would have won both districts in 2020, and they remain a prime opportunity for Democrats in 2022.

Texas: TX-15, will stay in Democratic hands this November as the crowded Republican primary races to the extreme right and their NRCC-backed frontrunner faces disturbing allegations of her “cruel and aggressive” treatment of her teenage stepdaughter.

Virginia: In Virginia, Rep. Jennifer Wexton has been added to the Frontline. Rep. Wexton first won reelection in 2018 after upsetting Barbara Comstock in Virginia’s 10th district.

DCCC Frontline Members:
Tom O’Halleran (AZ-02)
Greg Stanton (AZ-04)
Josh Harder (CA-09)
Katie Porter (CA-47)
Mike Levin (CA-49)
Jahana Hayes (CT-05)
Sanford Bishop (GA-02)
Cindy Axne (IA-03)
Bill Foster (IL-11)
Lauren Underwood (IL-14)
Sharice Davids (KS-03)
Jared Golden (ME-02)
Dan Kildee (MI-08)
Elissa Slotkin (MI-07)
Angie Craig (MN-02)
Chris Pappas (NH-01)
Andy Kim (NJ-03)
Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05)
Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)
Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)
Dina Titus (NV-01)
Susie Lee (NV-03)
Steven Horsford (NV-04)
Antonio Delgado (NY-19)
Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
Kurt Schrader (OR-05)
Susan Wild (PA-07)
Matt Cartwright (PA-08)
Elaine Luria (VA-02)
Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)
Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)
Kim Schrier (WA-08)

DCCC Districts in Play 
AZ-01 (David Schweikert)
AZ-06 (Open)
CA-03 (Open)
CA-13 (Open)
CA-22 (David Valadao)
CA-27 (Mike Garcia)
CA-40 (Young Kim)
CA-41 (Ken Calvert)
CA-45 (Michelle Steel)
CO-07 (Open)
CO-08 (Open)
FL-26 (Carlos Giménez)
FL-27 (María Elvira Salazar)
IA-01 (Mariannette Miller-Meeks)
IA-02 (Ashley Hinson)
IL-13 (Open)
IL-17 (Open)
IN-05: (Victoria Spartz)
MD-01 (Andy Harris)
MI-03 (Peter Meijer)
MI-10 (Open)
MO-02 (Ann Wagner)
NC-02 (Open)
NE-02 (Don Bacon)
NM-02 (Yvette Herrell)
NY-02 (Andrew Garbarino)
NY-22 (Claudia Tenney)
NY-24 (Open)
OH-01 (Steve Chabot)
OH-13 (Open)
OR-04 (Open)
OR-06 (Open)
PA-01 (Brian Fitzpatrick)
PA-10 (Scott Perry)
TX-15 (Open)
TX-23 (Tony Gonzales)
TX-24 (Beth Van Duyne)
UT-04 (Burgess Owens)


Please make sure that the form field below is filled out correctly before submitting.