News · Press Release


Vulnerable House Republicans walked the plank on a tax scam that could end their careers

With Congressman-elect Conor Lamb pulling off a huge upset in PA-18, House Republicans across the country – including those in districts that President Trump won by a wide margin – are facing the reality that their political careers could be ending. The DCCC has previously released two rounds of our retirement watch list, successfully predicting seven retirements before they happened (even when those offices firmly denied they would retire this cycle).

House Republicans and their outside money machine have drawn up a midterm playbook that simply won’t work. With the exit signs looking brighter than ever, it’s time for another DCCC Retirement Watch List.

“A huge number of House Republicans woke up today and realized that their district is a lot more friendly to Democrats than Pennsylvania’s deep-red 18th District,” said DCCC Spokesman Tyler Law. “Adding insult to injury, Republicans who walked the plank on Speaker Ryan’s tax scam are realizing that what was promised to them as a silver bullet could actually be a career ending political liability. From healthcare, to taxes, to the chaos and anxiety caused by the Trump Administration, House Republicans are going to be heading for the exits sooner rather than later.”

Stay on the lookout for more retirements in the weeks to come…

New Additions:

  • David Valadao (CA-21)
  • Carlos Curbelo (FL-26)
  • Mike Bost (IL-12)
  • Erik Paulsen (MN-03)
  • Ann Wagner (MO-02)
  • Chris Smith (NJ-04)
  • Steve Chabot (OH-01)
  • Ryan Costello (PA-06)
  • Keith Rothfus (PA-12)
  • Barbara Comstock (VA-10)
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05)
  • Paul Ryan (WI-01)
  • Glenn Grothman (WI-06)

Existing List:

  • Don Young (AK-AL)
  • Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
  • Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
  • Fred Upton (MI-06)
  • Leonard Lance (NJ-07)
  • Pete King (NY-02)
  • Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03)
  • Bruce Poliquin (ME-02)
  • Pete Sessions (TX-32)

Retirements the DCCC called before they happened:

  • Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)
  • Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
  • Patrick Meehan (PA-07)
  • Charlie Dent (PA-15)
  • Dave Reichert (WA-08)
  • Ed Royce (CA-39)
  • Ron DeSantis (FL-06)

Please make sure that the form field below is filled out correctly before submitting.